The Entrance claim 1st grade cricket Minor Premiership

Former Wyong Shire based cricket clubs have blitzed the 2019 Central Coast Cricket Association First Grade Competition, with all four teams heading to the semi-finals on March 9 hailing from the Coast’s north.
Northern Power, The Entrance, Wyong and Warnervale will go head to head in the semi-finals, with the two victorious clubs going on to the grand final on March 16.
Two centuries were the highlight of the Round 18 match at Col Gooley Field, where Northern Power defeated Southern Spirit by 94 runs, to claim an unlikely finals berth.
After Round 11, Northern Power were sitting in 9th position on the ladder, however six wins, including an outright, from their last seven matches, saw them claim fourth position by a point.
Batting first, Northern Power put a massive 6/293 from their 50 overs with, Brett Lenton and Zac Abel, putting on 156 runs for the third wicket.
Abel was dismissed for 79, however, it was Lenton who continued his amazing turnaround.
Starting the season as a swing bowler and lower order bat, Lenton was elevated to the top order as a pinch hitter early in the year, and he has blossomed as the season progressed.
His innings today was his best, finishing with 138 not out, at a run a ball, which included nine fours and three sixes.
Ross Watson was the best of the Spirit bowlers, taking 3/35.
Chasing the mammoth total, the Spirit slumped to 5/43 before, Laurence Legge and Justin Gerrie, came together and put on 141 runs, to give their side an outside chance of a monumental victory.
The dismissal of Legge for a superb 104 (116 balls, nine fours, one six) ended that thought, and when Gerrie went not long after for 60, the innings fell away to be all out for 199.
Lion-hearted opening bowler, Dave Molan, was again excellent with 3/27 whilst fellow opening bowler, Nathaniel Stokes, took three wickets with the new ball, to put the Spirit on the back foot.
Wyong secured third spot on the ladder with a 59 run win over Terrigal Matcham at Baker Park.
Jordan Liddle and Kaleb Daley, laid the platform for Wyong to score 8/171 from their allotted 50 overs.
Mitch Bowring and Jaime Brien, each took three wickets for Terrigal Matcham.
In reply, Terrigal Matcham, missing key batsmen, Ryan and Kyle James and Lloyd Radcliffe, never troubled the total and were dismissed for 112.
Tim Bowring led a lone hand from the top of the order to finish with 40, whilst spinner, Andrew Dufty, took 3/17 for Wyong.
The Entrance claimed the Minor Premiership, Alan Davidson Cup, and $1,000, when they easily accounted for Kincumber Avoca at Erina Oval.
Kincumber-Avoca were dismissed for 125 with the bat, which saw seven of the top eight batsmen all reach double figures but no player exceeding 16.
Mitch Starkey took 4/33 to be the most successful The Entrance bowler.
The Entrance cruised to victory for the loss of just three wickets, with the only minor hiccup being when veteran, Griffen Jamie Rowe, took two wickets in quick succession to remove, Adam Taylor and Broc Hardy.
Ben Day, 40 not out, and Nick Hay, 23 not out, saw that there would be no further concern for the Gulls passing the total in the 36th over.
In the final game, Simon Keen, flexed his muscles to ensure Warnervale will enter the finals full of confidence, recording their tenth win in their last 11 games, accounting for Brisbane Water by 86 runs at Adcock Park.
Keen contributed with both bat, 67 off 55 balls, and ball, 6/47 off 9 overs, as Warnervale were untroubled.
Scott Atkinson with 41 opening the bating and some late order cameo’s saw the Wildcats dismissed for 223.
Ben Cohen proved the unlikely star with the ball, claiming 6/25 off 8 overs, which included three stumpings to, Dave Mitchell.

Media release, Mar 4
Garry Burkinshaw, Cricket NSW

Be the first to comment on "The Entrance claim 1st grade cricket Minor Premiership"

Leave a comment