Over 111,000 enrolled to vote in Dobell

Dobell, named after the late prominent artist, Sir William Dobell, covers most of the former Wyong shire and parts of the former Gosford council area and has an enrolment of 111,630.
It is held by the Australian Labor Party’s, Emma McBride, with a 4.8 percent margin.
At the last Federal election in 2016, McBride won the seat from the Liberals with a 4.6 percent swing and taking 54.8 percent of the two candidate preferred vote.
It is considered a marginal seat, and since the electorate was proclaimed in 1984, and won by the Labor Party, it has see-sawed back and forth between the ALP and Liberal Party at each Federal election.
There are six candidates in this year’s election, and the order of the ballot paper is: Aaron Harpley-Carr, United Australia Party; Paula Grundy, Christian Democratic Party; Jilly Pilon, Liberal; Rickard Scott, Greens, Emma McBride, Labor; and, Gregory Stephenson Independent.
Dobell covers 787sq km from Ravensdale in the north to Erina Heights in the south.
Main towns include Bateau Bay, Berkeley Vale, Blue Haven, Chittaway Bay, Charmhaven, Dooralong, Erina Heights (part), Gorokan, Hamlyn Terrace, Jilliby, Kanwal, Killarney Vale, Kulnura (part), Lake Haven, Lisarow (part), Long Jetty, Magenta, Mardi, Narara (part), Niagara Park (part), Norah Head, Noraville, Ourimbah, Ravensdale, Tacoma, The Entrance, Toowoon Bay, Toukley, Tuggerah, Tuggerawong, Tumbi Umbi, Wallarah, Wamberal (part), Warnervale, Woongarrah, Wyoming, Wyong, Wyong Creek and Yarramalong.
Both major parties have been spruiking a long list of promises in the lead-up to the vote on Saturday and the Prime Minister, Scott Morrison, has made several visits to the Central Coast.
The Liberals have promised to: spend almost $1M on upgrades to the Ourimbah Multi-Sports Facility and the main playing field at the Central Coast Hockey Complex; invest $237,200 into Bateau Bay PCYC; a $70M Central Coast Roads Package; and, $4.7M to improve water quality in the Tuggerah Lakes estuary, taking the Coalition’s commitment to cleaner Central Coast waterways to $5.3M.
Labor has promised $7M on community projects including: $900,000 for a dementia inclusive park on the Gorokan foreshore; $500,000 to upgrade Bateau Bay PCYC; $171,000 on new drone rescue services for surf lifesaving clubs; mental health programs for the 12 to 25 age group through Headspace Gosford and Lake Haven to provide in-school youth mental health services; $250,000 upgrade of the Lake Haven Masonic Village home care kitchen; $5M to clean up Tuggerah Lakes and Central Coast waterways; a Medicare-funded MRI licence to Wyong Hospital; $1.3M in new initiatives at the University of Newcastle Ourimbah campus; $40M extra for Central Coast public schools in the first three years; $2M at Wyong TAFE for health and community services equipment upgrades; $20M for a new stand-alone public palliative care hospice on the Central Coast; a new metastatic cancer nurse; and, $60M Central Coast Roads Rescue Package.
Where to vote:
Bateau Bay – Gordon Dodd Hall, Nareen Gardens, 19 Bias Ave; Public School, 2a Waratah St; Banksia Family Centre, 7 Joseph Banks Dr, Cynthia Street Community Centre;
Berkeley Vale – Public School, 6 Pindarri Ave; Progress Hall, Panorama Pde;.
Blue Haven – Public School, 39 Colorado Dr.
Chittaway Bay – Primary School, 101 Chittaway Rd; Point Hall, 72 Geoffrey Rd.
Dooralong – Public School, 1046 Dooralong Rd.
Erina Heights – Public School, Serpentine Rd.
Gorokan – Pre-school, 8-12 Balmoral Dr.
Holgate – Primary School, 189 Wattle Tree Rd.
Jilliby – Public School, 352 Jilliby Rd.
Kanwal – Public School – 33 Craigie Ave.
Killarney Vale – Public School, 1 Henricks Rd; Brooke Avenue Public School, 96 Brooke Ave.
Lisarow – Public School, 17 MacDonalds Rd.
Long Jetty – Senior Citizens Hall, 6 Thompson St; 1st Tuggerah Lakes Scout Hall, Nirvana St.
Norah Head – Community Hall, 75 Bungary Rd.
Noraville – Toukley Public School, 123 Evans Rd.
Ourimbah – Public School, 121 Pacific Hwy.
Shelly Beach – Tuggerah Lakes Secondary College, 450 The Entrance Rd.
Tacoma – Public School, 75 Hillcrest Ave.
The Entrance – Public School, cnr Campbell and Oakland Aves; Glenvale Annexe SSP, 77 Hutton Rd.
Toukley – Senior Citizens Centre, 1 Hargraves St.
Tuggerah – Community Hall, 9 Anzac Rd; Public School, 63 Pacific Hwy.
Tuggerawong – Progress Hall, 326 Tuggerawong Rd.
Tumbi Umbi – Tuggerah Lakes Secondary College, 150 Bellevue Rd; Community Centre, Roberta St.
Wadalba – Community School, 20 Van Stappen Rd.
Warnervale – Public School, 55 Warnervale Rd.
Watanobbi – Wyong Public School, 52 Cutler Pl.
Woongarrah – Public School, 75-85 Mataram Rd.
Wyong – Public School, 1 North St; Anglican Church, 27 Byron St.
Wyongah – Progress Hall, Tuggerawong Rd.
Wyong Creek – Public School, Yarramalong Rd.
Yarramalong – Public School, Yarramalong Rd.
Early voting centres:
Wednesday, May 15 and Thursday, May 16, 8.30am to 5.30pm and Friday, May 17, 8.30am to 6pm – Unit 1, 132 Chelmsford Rd, Charmhaven; Shop 4, 165-171 The Entrance Rd, The Entrance; Suite 2, 34-36 Pacific Hwy, Wyong.

Website, May 13
Australian Electoral Office
Website, May 13
The Tally Room
Media releases
Member for Dobell, Emma McBride
Liberal candidate for Dobell, Jilly Pilon

Be the first to comment on "Over 111,000 enrolled to vote in Dobell"

Leave a comment