Killarney District win top three football championships

Killarney District have snatched their fourth straight League Championship with a last-gasp winning goal against Woongarrah in a thrilling Saturday match in front of a huge crowd at Pluim Park.
It capped off another clean-sweep for the Terriers who took out both lower grade titles as well as the Battlewin Premier League Club Championship for the second successive season.
The result means that all three Killarney teams have next weekend off before taking on the winners of Sunday’s qualifying finals.
Killarney needed to record a victory in the match to secure a fourth consecutive League Championship, whilst Woongarrah needed to avoid defeat to secure the title for themselves.
This combination of circumstance produced an extremely high-octane second half of football.
Woongarrah fought hard for large periods of the second half knowing that they needed a goal to fulfil their hopes of becoming the first side to capture the League Championship in their debut season in the premier league, and they got that goal in the 70th minute courtesy of Striker, Kane Woolston.
Deep into injury time, Killarney found the breakthrough in spectacular fashion thanks to Matt Hall.
The victory saw the Terriers secure a fourth straight League Championship, earning them a week off in the process.
Woongarrah, meanwhile, will look to dust themselves down as they gear up to face Terrigal United in the qualifying final come Sunday afternoon at Pluim Park.
Elsewhere, The Entrance drew with East Gosford 1-all, Toukley lost to Southern and Ettalong United 5-nil, Berkeley Vale beat Gosford City 4-1, Wyoming beat Kanwal 4-2 and Terrigal beat Avoca 2-nil.

Website, Aug 27
Lachlan Herd, Central Coast Footbal

Be the first to comment on "Killarney District win top three football championships"

Leave a comment